19th Annual Sean W. Dever Memorial Prize

The W.F. Albright Institute of Archaeological Research in Jerusalem announces the 2020 Sean W. Dever Memorial Prize call for papers. This prize provides $750 for the best published article or paper presented at a conference that treats a topic in the field of Syro-Palestinian or Biblical Archaeology. 

Authors must be Ph.D. candidates in the semester in which the winner is announced (Spring 2020). They may be of any nationality but the article or paper must be in English. Co-written or co-presented pieces may be submitted if all the authors or presenters are doctoral candidates; the prize, if awarded, will be divided equally among authors or presenters. 

All submissions must be in PDF format only. Conference papers must include images (if used in the presentation) in PDF format (either as a separate document or embedded within the text of the paper), and full citations and bibliographic references.

Submissions must be received no later than December 31, 2019. The prize will be announced on Sean’s birthday, March 9, 2020. 

Sean W. Dever Memorial Prize Committee: Carol Meyers and Beth Alpert Nakhai, co-chairs; Walter Aufrecht and Seymour Gitin, members; JP Dessel and Matthew Adams, ex-officio members. 

2019 Prize Recipient: Assaf Kleiman, Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Archaeology and Ancient Near Eastern Cultures at Tel Aviv University. His paper, “Comments on the Archaeology and History of Tell el-Far’ah North (Biblical Tirzah) in the Iron IIA,” was published in Semitica 60 (2018): 85–104.