The William F. Albright Institute of Archaeological Research in Jerusalem is pleased to announce the winner of the 23rd annual competition for the Sean W. Dever Memorial Prize. This award offers $750 for the best paper presented at a conference by a Ph.D. candidate in Syro-Palestinian or Biblical Archaeology. Authors may be of any nationality but the paper must be in English.

The winning paper this year is by Julian M. Hirsch, a Ph.D. Candidate in the Institute of Archaeology at The Hebrew University of Jerusalem. His paper, “Religion, Politics, and Change at Early Bronze Age Megiddo,” was presented at the Conference of the British Association for Near Eastern Archaeology in Glasgow, Scotland on January 5, 2024.

The Sean W. Dever Prize was established in 2001 by the late Mrs. Norma Dever and Professor William G. Dever, in memory of their son Sean William.

Sean W. Dever Memorial Prize Committee: Jennie Ebeling and Nathaniel Levtow, cochairs; Liz Bloch-Smith and Seymour Gitin, members; JP Dessel and James Fraser, ex-officio members.